top of page

A look back and forward at my wedding photography



I have been officially been a professional photographer for 10 years. I have been a photographer for well over 20 years. I got my certification from the former Oklahoma School of Photography back in 2011. During that same time I was also working as a baby photographer and then as a portrait photographer in the former PictureMe Portrait studios that used to be inside Walmart stores. I was living my dream as working as a photographer and also studying photography.


Over the years I've been changing and mastering my technique when it comes to my composition and also when it comes to my editing. During one of my portrait sessions at PictureMe, I photographed a couple who was engaged. They were a nice couple named Robert & Stephanie. Stephanie loved my vision of her engagement photos that as they were checking out, she asked me if I would photograph her wedding the following month. At that point and time I had NEVER photographed a wedding before. I told her that and she didn't mind. She said that she loved my take on photos and wanted that for her wedding. So with just a little advice from my instructors at the photography school and a check list...I photographed my first wedding.



Unfortunately, I don't have any photos left of that event. I do however have a followup session that I did with Robert and Stephanie for one of my photography assignments. Here are a few photos that I took of them in their wedding attire after their wedding day. They loved these so much too that they asked me to include them in their wedding album.



Since that time in 2010, I have photographed many other weddings. With each wedding I have learned what to do and what not to do. I have learned a few tips and tricks on how to make the day run smoother for myself and for the bride and groom. I have also learned how to streamline my work so that it's easier for me in post-production. One of the biggest things that I have learned when photographing a wedding...COMFORTABLE SHOES! That's a non-negotiable. So real talk..sometimes I'm rocking those tennis shoes at a formal event because I'm not there to impress on what I'm wearing on my feet. I'm there to capture the magic of the day and make sure that the memories for the bride and groom are on point.


Here are a few tips that I can give you to make sure that your wedding day photography will be on point.


  1. Make sure that you have extras for EVERYTHING. (Extra camera, batteries, sd cards, flashes etc.)

  2. Wear comfortable shoes! (It's a VERY long day and your feet WILL swell!)

  3. Make sure that you pack plenty of water and a light snack. (Bride and groom should have a meal for you, but until it's chow time..make sure that you're good for those in-between rumbles.)

  4. Make sure that you have your checklist handy just in case there's a last minute change.

  5. Arrive early and be prepared to stay late just incase the bride or groom requests special photo opps. (This has happened more than once so I just make sure that I'm prepared.)

  6. Don't be afraid to move in front of people who take cell phone pics. (You're being paid to be there, they aren't. Don't let anyone intimidate you for trying to do your job.)

  7. Have a thick skin. (The bride is going to be your biggest intimidator but also your best friend during photos. Don't take it personally if she snaps at you.)

  8. Have an extra person if possible depending on the size of your wedding. (I have assistants at times but mostly I'm the only shooter.)

  9. Take your time and don't rush any of your shots.

  10. Relax, have fun and just enjoy the day. The real work begins in post-production.


Now here is how my work currently looks. I have adjusted my editing styles and my composition over the years. Here is what to expect from me whenever I photograph a wedding now.



Weddings are really a lot of fun. Weddings are also a business that you shouldn't take lightly and that you should always be upfront with your abilities. Don't take on a large wedding if you're not confident in your abilities. Also make sure that you're offering your best work no matter what. Your work will speak for itself. Make it count and make it unforgettable.


bottom of page